State of Ohio Boiler Operator Stationary Steam Engineer Licensing

The State of Ohio, Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance administers examinations for individuals wishing to obtain a Low Pressure Boiler Operator, High Pressure Boiler Operator, or Stationary Steam Engineer license.

License Laws and Rules

Click Here to access a copy of Ohio’s laws applying to Boiler Operators and Stationary Steam Engineers.

The Division of Industrial Compliance website also provides a number of resources for those wishing to study for the exams or apply to take the exams.

Application Form and Instructions for Steam Engineers/Boiler Operators examination.

Body of Knowledge

A “Body of Knowledge” document is available as a study guide for each exam. It outlines the subject matter that should be studied.

Low Pressure Boiler Operator

High Pressure Boiler Operator

Stationary Steam Engineer

What You Need To Know To Schedule and Take The Ohio Licensing Exams

Exam Fees

The Ohio exam fees are as follows:

Application Fee: There is a fee of $75 to process the application to take the exam. This fee is to accompany the application. This may be paid by check, money order, Visa or Mastercard. Checks and money orders should be payable to Treasurer, State of Ohio. (If using credit card, call Bureau of Licensing & Certification at 614-644-2236.) The application must be submitted to the State of Ohio (at the address on the application form) at least 30 days prior to the date you wish to take the exam. For information on scheduling and locations, click here.

Examination Fee: There is a fee of $100 to take the exam. This fee may be paid on-line or by mail. For detailed instructions, click here.

License Issue Fee: Upon passing the examination, the State of Ohio will mail a letter requesting a fee of $50 for issuance of the license. Make cashier’s check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Ohio, per the instructions on the letter. (If using credit card, call Bureau of Licensing & Certification at 614-644-2236.)

Renewal Fee: Once the license is obtained, it must be renewed annually. There is a $50 fee per year to renew, payable to Treasurer, State of Ohio. As of this writing, the State of Ohio, Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance sends an invoice to the license holder well in advance of the license expiration date. The license is valid as long as it is renewed every year; there is no re-training or re-examination requirement.